No power shortages soon; Rajasthan is planning to brige the Demand-supply gap.

No power cuts in the state for Industry.

Supportive NES policy for investment.

Reform progressive state, Open Access allowed on Transmission and Distribution system.

Advantage Rajasthan


The Rajasthan State as it exists today is the result of the integration of 19 former Princely States and was formed in April,1949 with which, the former State of Ajmer was merged in Nov.,1956, and has an area of 1,32,147 square miles and had a population of 1,59,70,774 according to the Census of 1951. The Rajasthan State Electricity Board was constituted with effect from 1st July,1957 by Government of Rajasthan Notification No. F.11/OSD(PWD)/57 dated the 28th June,1957 under the Electricity (Supply) Act,1948 which enactment has for its object, the co-ordinated development and rationalisation of generation and supply of electricity on a regional basis throughout the country in the most efficient and economical way.

Government of Rajasthan on 19th July 2000, issued a gazette notification unbundling Rajasthan State Electricity Board into Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd.(RVUN), the generation Company; Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Prasaran Nigam Ltd.,(RVPN), the transmission Company and the three regional distribution companies namely Jaipur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.,(JVVNL) Ajmer Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.(AVVNL) and Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.(JdVVNL)

The Generation Company owns and operates the thermal power stations at Kota and Suratgarh, Gas based power station at Ramgarh, Hydel power station at Mahi and mini hydel stations in the State.